Feature Friday – Pineapple Pete Kids!


If you have a baby or children, be sure to check out this week’s Feature Friday seller! Meet Alison from Pinapple Pete Kids

1) How did you start creating?
I’ve been creating in some form or another since I was a little kid. My favorite thing was making movies with my friends and siblings. I would write a script, design and sew all the costumes and then direct film and edit. So much fun!

2) What is your favorite thing about creating?
I love getting all excited about a new idea that comes into my head. The process of turning that idea into a finished product is so much fun and it’s so satisfying when you create something you’re really proud of. I also love learning new skills (like screen printing).

3) Where do you find your inspiration?
Most of the designs in my shop were inspired by my two little boys. They are so fascinating to watch and new ideas are constantly popping into my head. My oldest son is four and likes giving my prototypes an early critique with either a “thumbs up” or “thumbs down” 🙂

4) Tell us about what you sell.
I sell playful clothing and accessories for babies and children. In the coming year I will be using more organic and bamboo fabrics and will be focusing on items for children with skin sensitivities. 

5) How did your shop get it’s name?
Unfortunately not much of a story there. I wanted a fun name that stood out and Pineapple Pete kind of just came into my head.

6) Do you have any advice for other sellers?
Be persistent. Make a quality product you are proud of and just keep working at getting your name out there. When I first opened my shop I didn’t get any sales and then a few months later had my second baby and closed it. I opened my shop back up last fall and tried again. I spent the entire year reading forums, asking questions and figuring out how to tweak my shop and listings. Between my craft shows and Etsy I had a pretty good year and people are getting to know my brand. 

7) How do you balance your Etsy shop, your children, and your everyday schedule?
I will admit this has been a very difficult balance. For the last four years I have been the main caretaker for my kids on top of a part time job and running my business (whenever I could find the time). I would do all my hand sewing while my kids watched cartoons in the morning, do computer stuff during nap time and everything else late at night. 

This last spring I became unable to work and had emergency back surgery in the summer. It’s been a hard year and I won’t be able to go back to work for a while yet but in a way this has been a blessing for my little business. I have had a lot more time to put into my shop and I can make my work schedule around what my body is able to handle. Creatively I have never been happier and I think it shows in my work and in my day to day life. 

8) Where else can we find you? 
Twitter  *  Facebook  * Website

I also offer special coupons and contests for Facebook fans throughout the year. Thanks for reading!

Thanks Alison!

That concludes our featured seller for this Friday! Make sure to Follow OwnSomethingAwesome on Facebook or Twitter to stay up-to-date and see when there is a new blog post! And feel free to leave a comment on the shops!

Leave a Reply

