Feature Friday – The Family Feature!

So for this week, we are taking a break from Finding the Undiscovered – but no worries, we will continue on through the rest on November with them. ๐Ÿ™‚

This week I wanted to share all the different shops my family has on Etsy. I come from a family that’s all pretty creative, and all have a bit of entrepreneurial blood in them. My family has been my inspiration through all of this, and was gave me the idea of starting my own business in the first place. I always knew I wanted to do something business-related ever since I think about the 3rd grade, I just never knew what. Then my senior year in high school I wanted to be an accountant, and that’s what sparked the idea of being my own boss. Well, after my first year taking classes, I then decided I wanted to go a completely different route and re-find my creative side. Where better to look for inspiration than from family who was already doing what I was dreaming of one day doing? Then, just this past year, I finally was able to recruit my husband into the world of Etsy as well! He’s always supported me with my business endeavors, but it was really exciting when he decided to join the Etsy world too and now we can stay up talking about different business related things, ways to improve, and what we would like to do with our shops in the future. Anyways, that’s just a little background. Here are the shops and a little bit about each of them!

My Husbands Shop:

Sheet Metal Worker by Day, Creative Modding by Night! After trying to figure out a hobby for so long, he finally found his passion in taking ordinary technology and creating something more visually appealing.

Opened on Aug 9, 2012
Essexville, MI

Visual ReMix – Where we change something old into something new everyday!

My Mom’s Shops:

“I have been sewing since the day I was able to pick up a needle, everything from blankets and pillow cases, Barbie and other Doll clothes, to helping sew puppets for my mom, Margie Gillman of Puppets by Margie.
My first experience with designing doll clothes was when I was very young and my little sister got a Pillsbury dough girl. She wanted clothes for it, so for her birthday I found a cardboard oatmeal container and filled it with doll clothes I made from my mom’s material stash. I have loved designing and making doll clothes ever since.

Now, many years, a husband and 4 children later, I still love crafting and found the internet to be a great way to market my items.

I love all kinds of crafts so you might see some crocheting, knitting and needle work included with some of my doll clothes.”

Opened on Apr 24, 2009
Pinconning, MI

T&K Country Treasures – Doll Clothes for Play or Display!

I love to design and make all styles and sizes of doll clothes.

Stay updated by following me on Twitter!

Opened on Feb 22, 2011
Pinconning, MI

After selling on Etsy for quite a while, I decided that I would like to dedicate a shop to only Blythe items to make it easier for Blythe doll lovers to shop.

My Grandma’s Shops:

“My name is Margie. I started to appreciate sewing when I watched my mother sew for her 10 daughters. My first purchase when I began working, was a Singer sewing machine. I saved $79 to buy this machine and was very excited when I took my new possession home.

I haven’t quit sewing since then, from doll clothes to bridal dresses, and for over 40 years, puppets.. The possibilities are endless.”

Opened on Jul 30, 2009
Bay City, MIย 

I have been in business for over 40 years! Puppets by Margie attends art & craft shows, and am now performing puppet shows with my retired husband at venues across Michigan.

I design and construct each puppet with lots of love and caring attention to detail from start to finish.

Opened on May 31, 2012
Bay City, MI

Many quality handmade doll outfits for popular modern dolls to ~Dress Your Doll~.

My Grandpa’s Shop:

Opened on Jan 23, 2010
Bay City, MIย 

“I have been carving for over 10 years. I have won 2 blue ribbons in carving competitons. My inspiration comes from nature. You never know what you might find in a piece of wood. No patterns are used. The work is inspired by whatever looks good on the piece of wood. Each item is truly one-of-a-kind.

My main interests are in Cottonwood Bark Carvings of Woodland Indians and Old Trappers, as well as bears, turtles, and twig carving. These, as well as, Native American Dream Catchers.”

My Aunt Stephanie’s Shops:

“I began sewing as a preteen to help pay for my school clothes. I sew now for a creative escape from routine office life. I hope that you enjoy my work.”

Opened on Aug 20, 2011
Sterling Heights, MI
ย 

Dolls, Accessories, E-Reader Holders, Hair Accessories, Hand Puppets, Housewares, Tissue Holders, Tooth Fairy Pillow, and more!

ย 
ย 
Opened on Aug 2, 2012
Sterling Heights, MI

Welcome to Puppet Party! My shop features fun, colorful puppets that are sure to make you smile.


My Aunt MaryBeth’s Shop:

Opened on Jan 1, 2011
Bay City, MI

Decals can be used to decorate a laptop, car window, mirror, wall, or any clean smooth surfaces.

And My Shops:ย 

We’ll start with the background story – because there were quite a few ventures before Own Something Awesome was started.

I started selling Home Decorating items in 2005, the fall after I graduated high school. This was to help fund my college expenses. Well, a couple years down the road when I started needle felting, my mom and I decided to let the business go. We decided weย didn’tย want to sell manufactured things anymore when we made high quality products ourselves. Whoย wouldn’tย want to buy some high quality handmade products? So that was the end of the home decorating business.

In 2009, right before I got married, my husband and I decided it was time for me to resign from my position at an insurance agency, and fulfill my dream of being a successful entrepreneur, so after our wedding in May, I left the end of June.

In July of 2009 A&K Gift Gallery was opened, which is now my shop for everything except what is offered in my Own Something Awesome Etsy shop.

I have dabbled a lot with so many different items, then, when I was pregnant with my son, Iย couldn’tย needle felt anymore. The motion of the needle felting actually made me feel sickโ€ฆ So, I needed to find something else to do to pass the time. Thatโ€™s when I re-found crochet. I had actually made wash cloths to have as little gifts for at my baby shower. After seeing how much the guests did actually love them, I decided to start Own Something Awesome, which has led me to where I am today. ๐Ÿ™‚

Opened on Aug 3, 2011
Essexville, MI

My shop for Crocheted Wash Cloths, Nylon Scrubbies, Scrubbie Sponges, Acrylic Sponges, Cotton Sponges, Face Scrubbies, and Textured Wash Cloths.

Opened on Jul 25, 2009
Essexville, MI

My shop for anything else I may make. Currently Cabbage Patch Newborn outfits, LaLaLoopsy Littles dresses, Needle Felted Sculptures, and a couple of PDF Tutorials.

That concludes our featured sellers for this Friday! Make sure to Followย OwnSomethingAwesomeย onย Facebookย orย Twitterย to stay up-to-date and see when there is a new blog post! And feel free to leave a comment on the shops!

If you’ve missed out on the past Feature Fridays –ย Check them out here!

Have a great weekend everyone!

6 thoughts on “Feature Friday – The Family Feature!

Leave a Reply

